December Notebook

the-sweet-hereafter-bus

Critique of Religion and Philosophy by Walter Kaufmann (1979); The Skeleton Twins (2014); White Heat (1949); Enter the Dragon (1973); Commando (1985); Top Five (2014); Enemy (2014); Housebound (2014); The Guest (2014); Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (2014); Network (1976); The Sweet Hereafter (1997); Inherent Vice (2014); Bringing out the Dead (1999); Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975); Obvious Child (2014); We Are the Best! (2014); Noah (2014); The One I Love (2014); The Rover (2014); Thief (1981); The Host (2006); The Babadook (2014)

I wrote an essay about Commando equal parts bizarre and sincere. Moreso than most of what I put up here there are evident seams. I still think this turned out better than it had any right to be.

Wrapped up nearly every 2014 film I felt was essential to see or rewatch; the year-end list will be up within a week. Films missed that I would have probaly liked: SelmaAmerican Sniper, The ImmigrantGod’s PocketA Most Violent YearThe GamblerCitizenfourMaps to the Stars. I only have so much time.

I launched The 2015 Watch List and got a head start on two entries. I’m excited about this. The fall was a conscious experiment in watching as many films as I could. I think it paid off. After 2015 I hope I can avoid ever needing to have that amount of volume, but I want to keep this up and cover the field.

White Heat getting made that year is unfathomable.

Walter Kaufmann and the three girls in We Are the Best! are my new heroes.

Leave a Reply

