End-of-Year Addendum

the-guest-reaction-shot-film

My 2014 favorite films list, with honorable mentions, is here. I saw about forty-five 2014 releases.

Both honorable mentions were difficult to leave off, The Guest especially so. Blue Ruin, Gone GirlLocke, and The One I Love were the only others I considered.

Films I didn’t see that would have had a good chance: American SniperCitizenfour, The GamblerGod’s PocketThe ImmigrantMaps to the StarsA Most Violent YearSelma.

Amazing individual stretches: the first 45 minutes of The Babadook, everything past the first 45 minutes of The Equalizer; twenty scattered minutes in Snowpiercer (overall a complete mess).

“We’ll agree to disagree”Housebound, The Rover

Probably good, though I couldn’t stand it: The Grand Budapest Hotel. I suspect whatever it’s doing with film history, on a level I can never comprehend, drove a lot of the appreciation. Yet what I can comprehend, its relation to early 20th century European history, felt morally abhorrent and a disservice to the man it’s dedicated to. I hope I come around on this someday, but for now, yikes.

Actually badA Walk Among the TombstonesFoxcatcherTop Five, X-Men: Days of Future Past

Most insane devotion to color contrast: The Drop

Finally: Birdman might be unlikely to hold up artistically, yet it’ll have an enduring shelf life as a time-capsule chronicle of how 2014 felt. Also an emphatically great movie if you read it as being about the experience of spending time in New York after living in California.

One thought on “End-of-Year Addendum

  1. Pingback: We’re Here to Get There | Accidental Jellyfish

Leave a Reply

